OFFICE OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY POLICY

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20502



# Press Kit

# Launch of

# The National Science and Technology Council

Joint Committee on Improving Research Environments

# The White House Office of Science and Technology Staff Contacts

Communications and Public Affairs Ross Gillfillan | <u>ross@ostp.eop.gov</u> | 202-456-4797 Elena Hernandez | <u>elena.hernandez@ostp.eop.gov</u> | 202-456-3077

OFFICE OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY POLICY

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20502



# FACT SHEET: TRUMP ADMINISTRATION TAKING ACTION TO IMPROVE U.S. RESEARCH ENVIRONMENTS

"Unleashing American discovery and innovation means providing the environment that allows our scientists, engineers, inventors, and entrepreneurs to do what they do best – explore, discover and be creative,"– Dr. Kelvin K. Droegemeier, Director, The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy

**HELPING RESEARCHERS ACHIEVE FULL POTENTIAL:** The National Science and Technology Council (NSTC) established a Joint Committee of the Committee on Science and the Committee on Science and Technology (S&T) Enterprise to address issues related to research environment safety, integrity, and productivity. Specifically, the Joint Committee will examine:

- > Administrative burdens on federally-funded research,
- Rigor and integrity in research,
- > Safe, inclusive, and equitable research settings,
- Protecting American research assets.

These cross cutting issues align efforts across both NSTC Committees and bring together the leadership of the two Committees in elevating research environment challenges, engaging the scientific community, and convening interagency problem-solving.

A WHOLE OF GOVERNMENT APPROACH: NSTC Committees are led by the Office of Science and Technology Policy and Federal agency chairs. The Committee on Science (CoS) is co-chaired by OSTP Director Dr. Kelvin Droegemeier, National Institutes of Health Director Dr. Francis Collins, and National Science Foundation Director Dr. France Córdova. The Committee on S&T Enterprise (CSTE) is co-chaired by Dr. Droegemeier, Dr. Córdova, National Institute of Standards and Technology Director Dr. Walt Copan, and Department of Energy Undersecretary for Science, Paul Dabbar.

In addition to the above agencies, critical departments and agencies that are members of both the CoS and CSTE and are listed below:

- > James Bridenstine, Administrator, National Aeronautics and Space Administration
- Mary Miller, Principal Deputy, Director of Defense Research and Engineering for Research and Technology, Department of Defense.
- > Dr. Deborah Frincke, Director of Research, National Security Agency

#### OFFICE OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY POLICY

#### WASHINGTON, D.C. 20502

EMBARGOED May 6, 2019

## The White House Unveils New Joint Initiative Supporting U.S. Research Community

Today, The White House National Science and Technology Council (NSTC) unveiled a new Joint Committee to address issues facing the U.S. research community. Spearheaded by the NSTC Committee on Science and Committee on Science and Technology (S&T) Enterprise, the Joint Committee will focus on improving the safety, integrity, and productivity of research settings.

Specifically, the Joint Committee will examine:

- Administrative burdens on federally-funded research,
- Rigor and integrity in research,
- Safe, inclusive, and equitable research settings,
- Protecting American research assets.

"Our Nation's continued global leadership in science and technology depends upon attracting, empowering, and retaining our best and brightest talent. It's critical we remove any obstacles in the way of the scientists, engineers, and inventors of today and tomorrow achieving their full potential," **said Dr. Kelvin K. Droegemeier, Director, The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.** "The NSTC's new Joint Committee brings together the Federal government's foremost leaders in science and technology and the S&T enterprise to elevate and tackle the most pressing challenges facing American researchers. I've made this one of my top priorities and remain committed to ensuring our research community is a model for the rest of the world."

Members of the Joint Committee, listed below, will engage with the academic and S&T community to gain valuable insight for policymaking as well as convene interagency efforts.

## Joint Committee Co-Chairs

Dr. Kelvin K. Droegemeier

Dr. Francis Collins, Director, National Institutes of Health

Dr. France Córdova, Director, National Science Foundation

Dr. Walt Copan, Director, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Paul Dabbar, Undersecretary for Science, Department of Energy

## About the National Science and Technology Council

The NSTC was established by Executive Order on November 23, 1993. This Cabinet-level Council is the principal means within the Executive Branch to coordinate science and technology policy across the diverse entities that make up the Federal research and

OFFICE OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY POLICY

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20502

development enterprise. The Office of Science and Technology Policy Director serves as the chair of the Council and provides leadership across the NSTC and interagency.